IFP Welcomes KwaZulu Natal Legislature Members

04 June 2013    



The IFP has welcomed three new Members into the KwaZulu-Natal Legislature who were sworn in today in Pietermaritzburg. The three MPLs – Inkosi Mzamo Buthelezi, the party’s Deputy President; Mrs Thembeni KaMadlopha Mthethwa, Women’s Brigade National Chairperson; Mr Nhlanhla Msimango, NEC Member – come in to replace Dr MJ Mthethwa, Dr Usha Roopanarain and Mr Roman Liptak who resigned recently from the Legislature.


 Welcoming the new MPLs, IFP Leader in the Legislature Mr Blessed Gwala said:

“It gives the KwaZulu-Natal IFP Caucus honour to welcome the three senior leaders of the party into our Caucus. They join us at an appropriate moment as the IFP is on a strong come-back campaign to regain its prominent position in the politics of KwaZulu-Natal and South Africa.


“We are more than confident that these leaders will add an important dimension in our parliamentary debates and efforts to enhance our service to the people of KwaZulu-Natal, and to prepare for the 2014 elections.


“In the light of the new additions to our Caucus, I have also decided to effect some changes in our KwaZulu-Natal Shadow Cabinet. The changes are as follows:

-          Hon. Inkosi EM Buthelezi MPL; Shadow MEC for Social Development

-          Hon. Dr LPHM Mtshali MPL; Shadow MEC for Finance

-          Hon. Mrs TP kaMadlopha Mthethwa; Shadow MEC for Sports and Recreation

-          Hon. Mrs NJ Nkwanyana; Shadow MEC for Health

-          Hon. Mr P. Govender; Shadow MEC for Economic Development

-          Hon. Mr MJ Mazibuko; Shadow MEC for Human Settlements


I wish to assure the people of KwaZulu-Natal that the changes that the party has implemented are for their benefit and will go a long way towards ensuring that the IFP Caucus becomes an effective watchdog of their interests.”



For Further Information:

Hon. Blessed Gwala IFP MPL

Leader of the Official Opposition         078 290 5842